Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi from a new member

Hi from a new member

Just wanted to say hi to everyone here. I'm new to the Lansing Heritage forum.

I'm usually hanging out over at the Klipsch 2-channel forum at www.klipsch.com a very active forum with a bunch of real nice guys.

I've always been a Klipschophile for as long as I knew what a speaker was, about 28 years now. I've been a Pittsburgh Steelers fan just as long.

I've always had an appreciation for the older JBL speakers. The quality of the drivers is what I really like. Great American speaker construction.

I'm the lucky owner of a pair of L100's and a pair of 4311's, and I'll be restoring these two pairs of speakers over the next couple of months. I thought some of you here might be interested in following the webpage that I've made up for the restoration project. www.dcchomes.com/JBL.html

I'm not doing a complete restoration, nor am I doing a faithful one. I'm doing what makes me happy, because it is just a hobby for me, one that gets me away from working all the time. But I will be doing some extensive work on the L100's, with a complete re-veneer in Sapele wood. I hope you enjoy the webpage.

Greg

Greg,

You are most welcome.

Your pages are most impressive. One day I will veneer my diy JBL's, I'm sure your instructions will prove very useful.

Ian

Hi, Greg, and welcome aboard!

I can't get to page 2 of your website for some reason today, but that's a couple of nice projects you've got going on there. You may want to review the L100 restoration several regulars worked on here for our raffle.

http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/s...ead.php?t=2794

For example, one member has replicated the original foam grilles and sells them here. Looks like your frames are all ready for them! The ones you removed were likely from Radio Shack, which had imitations available up until a couple of years ago.